Applies to: Crew Basic
Effective Date: 8/4/2022
What is happening?
Any media and files (images, videos, etc.) shared in conversations will only be retained for six months. Any media and files shared in a conversation that is older than six months (180 days) will be permanently deleted from Crew servers and no longer accessible. The text content of conversations themselves will not be affected.
Note that this applies to Crew Basic users only. Crew Pro and Crew Enterprise customers will experience no data loss.
What data will be deleted?
Data that will be deleted:
- Media files (i.e., images, videos, etc.) shared in conversations within Crew Basic organizations more than six months ago
Data that is retained:
- Media files (i.e., images, videos, etc.) shared in conversations within Crew Basic organizations fewer than six months ago
- Media files (i.e., images, videos, etc.) shared in conversations within Crew Pro or Enterprise organizations regardless of the time sent
- Media files (i.e., images, videos, etc.) shared in the Team Files section of the Crew app regardless of the time originally shared
- The text content of any conversation regardless of the time sent
What can I do to avoid losing my files?
The simplest way to avoid any data loss is to upgrade to Crew Pro. As long as a Crew Pro subscription is active, all media files shared in conversations will be retained.
Click here to learn more about Crew Pro.
You can also manually save any media files shared more than 6 months ago, by individually navigating to the desired items within each conversation and choosing the option to save. This will save your image and video files locally to your device. Note that only you will have access to these stored files, so you will need to re-share them with anyone who continues to need access.
For long-term shared storage, upload files to the Team Files section of the Crew app and refer your team members to access them there.