How to Block a Coworker

Follow

Any team member can choose to block the incoming messages of any other team member, for any reason, and for any length of time. 

The blocked coworker, whether or not they’re an admin, (let’s call that person Chris) will not see any indication that they’ve been blocked, either in one-on-one messages or group messages. The person who has set the block (let’s say, Jenny) will still receive any messages from groups of which Chris is also a member.

There are several ways to set a message block.

From Message Details

  1. From an existing message thread, tap on any message from your team member
  2. Tap on Details at the bottom right of the screen (where applicable)
  3. Tap the three horizontal dots at the bottom right of the Message Details screen (iOS) / top right of the Message Details screen (Android)
  4. Select “Block”
  5. “Confirm” the block

Jenny, the blocker, won’t receive any Notifications of one-on-one messages from Chris, the blocked person, and any messages Chris sends will go directly to Chats Archive. Jenny will also see a note under Chris’s name in the Coworkers tab as a reminder that Chris is blocked, and it can also be seen on Chris’s Profile screen.

   IMG_1987.PNG             IMG_1988.PNG

You can choose to block the messages from a specific team member and then confirm the block

From the Coworkers Tab

  1. From the Coworkers tab, tap the three horizontal dots across from the team member’s name
  2. Select “Block”
  3. “Confirm” the block

From a Coworker’s Profile Screen

  1. Tap on the team member’s Profile photo on the Coworkers tab
  2. On the team member's Profile screen, tap on the 3 dots in the top right corner
  3. Tap “Block” 
  4. “Confirm” the block

How to Unblock a Coworker

If/when Jenny decides to lift the block, any of the three paths described above for blocking—Message Details, Coworkers tab or Profile screen— can be used. Jenny could also tap on any blocked and archived messages from Chris and choose the “Unblock” option at that step.

You can unblock a coworker from their Profile screen, as well as in a message or from the Coworkers tab

If Jenny needs to send a direct message to Chris, the block must be cancelled (even if temporarily). The option to “Unblock” will automatically appear if a message is initiated, and will need to be confirmed.

If you want to send a direct message to someone you’ve blocked, you’ll need to unblock them

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful